Our life in B-town

Attempting family life that is frugal, organic and eco-friendly

I did not want to cook tonight! August 6, 2012

Filed under: Johnathon,recipes,Sean,Self sufficiency,Solomon,Zephaniah — rorosarahbeth @ 11:00 pm

So I guess I will make crock pot mac and cheese. I found this recipe on Pinterest and it is the best and easiest one I have found! You don’t even have to cook the noodles!  I do pop it into the oven and add a crumb topping . The original recipe is here. I find this is a great recipe for sneaking veggies into! Tonight I added shredded zucchini and summer squash and even Sean couldn’t tell! I mean yeah he knew it was in there since it was greenish but he could barely taste it!  Johnathon thought I was super cool for making GREEN in the Mac and Cheese! He is pretty good at veggies but it is always good to sneak in a few more!

2 cups  milk
1 (12 oz.) can evaporated milk
1 egg
1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese (Or a little more if you like it cheesy!)
2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
1/2 grated summer squash
1/2 grated zucchini
Salt and pepper to taste (my family is not really a fan of either so I don’t add any to the pot and each adds their own)
Crumb topping(optional)
1/4 cup of bread crumbs
1/2 cup of wheat germ
2 tbsp of butter
Grease or spray your crock pot really well. Then just put everything into your crock pot and mix well. Don’t cook the noodles before adding them! Turn the pot on LOW and cook for 3-4 hours. I like the slightly browned crisp edges so I usually cook it for closer to the 4 hour mark.If desired then mix the bread crumbs and wheat germ and melt the butter, mix this all together and put on the top of the finished macaroni and cheese and pop into the oven for about 10-15 minutes at 350 or until the crumbs are slightly browned. This feeds my family as a main dish easily and has enough for left overs.

Mac and Cheese crock pot style!

With the crumb topping!

My bowl of yuminess!

 

Leave a Reply

