Our life in B-town

Attempting family life that is frugal, organic and eco-friendly

Rainbow Newborn Fluff July 31, 2012

Filed under: Cloth Diapering,Eco friendly,Johnathon,Self sufficiency,Zephaniah — rorosarahbeth @ 2:39 am

I cloth diaper my kids. Mostly because well, I am cheap, but I DO care about the environment too and want to do my small part to live greenly. When I found out I was pregnant with this babe I ordered a dozen rainbow-colored Alva newborns through a co-op because the price was very good and almost all of my newborn diapers I bought with Zephaniah were shredded thanks to Rockin’ Green. I think these will work pretty well for this baby and they are my favorite style of diapers!  I love pockets because they are super easy to use but still can tailor the absorbency to my babe’s needs.  Most of my stash is Sunbaby one-size diapers! I just love them! They work well and Johnathon can wear them if he is sick or at night. (Well if he doesn’t pee through them at night!) I prepped my new fluff yesterday since I got them on Saturday and they look good! A stacked rainbow of baby diapers! I think I will need about a dozen or so more before baby gets here but I am not sure if I will get more Alvas or if I will go for a more locally made diaper again. It depends mostly on finances since everything looks a little uncertain at the moment. I would prefer to help a local mom send her child to ballet classes or swimming lessons then help an executive buy his third vacation home but I have to be able to afford it.

Rainbow newborn fluff!

Zephaniah passed out after playing with Fergie’s fluff!

I also need to make another batch of laundry detergent. I am thinking of adding a few drops of lavender essential oil to this batch because I LOVE lavender! It is by far one of my most favorite smells. It really does relax me and just makes me just happy. In my happy place there are fields of lavender that go for miles. I really like making my own detergent since it saves me so much money and in my opinion it just gets my clothes and diapers so much cleaner.

The recipe I use is
1/3 bar of grated Fels Naptha Soap
1/2 cup of WASHING soda (Not baking soda!)
1/2 cup of borax
6 cups of water
4 cups of very hot water
1 gallon plus 6 cups of water

In a very large sauce pan heat grated Fels Naptha soap and water until combined and the soap melts. Slowly add washing soda and borax and stir until combined. Add 4 cups of very hot water and transfer to a bucket (Or if you are like me and using a HUGE canning pan remove from heat and add the very hot water) and stir well. Now add 1 gallon plus 6 cups of water stir and let stand over night. If you are like me let stand about 24 hours until kids finally go to sleep again! Then transfer to your container of choice and use 1/2 cup per load and 1/4 cup per diaper load.

 

Leave a Reply

