Our life in B-town

Attempting family life that is frugal, organic and eco-friendly

Self-Sufficient Kids July 18, 2012

Filed under: Johnathon,Parenting,Sean,Self sufficiency — rorosarahbeth @ 5:51 am

I was going through old papers and ran into some old school work. In high school I wrote a short children’s story in creative writing . The jist of the story is Bethany Bunny gets lost enjoying nature. She is so busy noticing things along the way like flowers and bumble bees that she doesn’t realize how far away she had gotten away from her mamma. She was lost in an unfamiliar place! She remains calm and  figures out how to get back on her own by remembering the things she saw on her way. I also read through the criticism cards I received from when I read the story aloud in class. Most said it wasn’t a safe story because it taught kids not to stay put and ask an adult for help when they got lost. Which yes, I get but it showed her using her noggin and the good sense she was blessed with to be self-sufficient and get back on her own. I guess it was a small hint about what kind of parent I would be.

We can’t expect kids to grow into self-sufficient adults who can think for themselves and get out of a situation if they are always standing around waiting for someone else to “Rescue” them or tell them what to think or how to think it. I knew this as a young teen but I didn’t quite understand how to express that then. I want my kids to know that yes, there are adults you can trust and it is okay to ask for help the only person who can get them out of a jam every time is themselves. I want them to use their heads and try to reason a way out of situations safely.
I am trying to give them tools to do just that. He knows what to do when he is lost in the store or a crowd, (Try to find mamma and find a cashier or police officer if you cannot) but always follow your instincts. If the person, whoever they are, seems creepy then stay away and it is never okay for someone to do anything to you that makes you uncomfortable.  My most recent endeavor is teaching Johnathon to call 911 and in what situations this is needed. Learning when and how to ask for help with the appropriate tools to do so. Daddy is having a seizure? Dial 911 and open the front door. Tell the dispatcher “My daddy is having a seizure and I need help.” Going and getting the medication and medical history list from the refrigerator and staying on the phone until the fire department gets there and showing them where daddy is and handing them the paper with my contact number and all of his medical information on it. Thankfully he has yet to be tested on this skill but we are going for a dry run here soon and I am nervous for him. I know he can do it and I trust his ability I just never want him to have to do that for real.

 

Leave a Reply

